Strawberry Feta “Salsa”

Standard

The title of this post (and the original recipe) calls this dish salsa but here in Texas, it’s not salsa without a few jalapenos and a handful of cilantro.   In spite of that, it’s been one of my favorites this summer.

1 pint strawberries, chopped

1 avocado, cut into chunks-not mashed

1/4 cup finely chopped purple onion

juice of one lime

1/4 to 1/2 cup of crumbled feta (depending on your personal taste-I always go for more)

2 tsp. olive oil (optional)

pepper, to taste (optional)

Gently stir all ingredients together.  Serve with pretzel rounds, crackers, or if you are like me- grab a spoon and eat it straight from the bowl.

~Rebecca

6 responses »

  1. Okay, I’ll leave our first comment! This has been my CANDY at times on this sugar free quest. Rebecca made this for us to eat at Noah’s birthday party, and with the help of this wonderful treat, we completely avoided the lemon birthday cake altogether.

    I say touche’. And I say thank you, Rebecca.

  2. I made this the other day for small group. I used jalapeno pepper instead of black pepper. i also ran a small amount of the salsa thru the blender and it gave me a saucy texture. it stayed on the chips and veggies better. It was a real hit.

Leave a Reply

